Sunday, September 04, 2016

Special Cover on Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna 2016 Awardees – 31st August 2016.

The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, officially known as Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award in Sports and Games is the highest sporting honour of the Republic of India. The award is named after Rajiv Gandhi, former Prime Minister of India. It is awarded annually by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. The recipient(s) is/are selected by a committee constituted by the Ministry and is honoured for their "spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports over a period of four years" at international level. As of 2016, the award comprises a medallion, a certificate, and a cash prize of Rs. 7.5 lakh.

Usually conferred upon only one sportsperson in a year, a few exceptions have been made when multiple recipients were awarded in a year. As of 2016, thirty-two recipients from fourteen sport disciplines have been awarded the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award. In 2016 for the first time in the history of National Sports Awards, four athletes were chosen for the Khel Ratna honour including Olympic silver medalist P.V. Sindhu, gymnast Dipa Karmakar, shooter Jitu Rai and Olympic bronze medalist Sakshi Malik who received the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award from the President Pranab Mukherjee in New Delhi on 29th August 2016.

Karnataka Postal Circle issued a Special Cover in honour of four Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna 2016 Awardees on 31st August 2016 at Bengaluru. (Special Cover approval no. KTK/14/2016). Special Cover is priced at Rs. 20 and can be purchased from Bengaluru Philatelic Bureau.

No comments:

Post a Comment