Wednesday, September 16, 2015



New Delhi: In a move that is bound to create fresh political controversy, the government has discontinued stamps launched by the Department of Posts (DoP) in December 2008 dedicated to Congress party icons and former Prime Ministers Indira Gandhi and Rajiv Gandhi.
An RTI query by Indian Express revealed that stamps of denomination of rupees five have been discontinued where Indira Gandhi and Rajiv Gandhi featured.

It further said that the ‘Builders of Modern India’ series, under which the two stamps were launched by the UPA I government, will be replaced with ‘Makers of India’ series.

The new series consisting 24 stamps will feature BJP founder Syama Prasad Mookerjee and other political leaders such as Jayaprakash Narayan, Deendayal Upadhyaya and Ram Manohar Lohia.

Father of Nation Mahatma Gandhi, India’s first PM Jawaharlal Nehru, Nobel laureate Mother Teresa and father of Indian Constitution Dr BR Ambedkar will also feature in the new series, it said.

In December 2008, the DoP had started the Builders of Modern India series with nine eminent personalities on stamps of diverse denominations. In May 2009, three more names were further added to it.

The report also stated that the ceremonial stamps issued so far may be made available in all post offices. Also stamps with picture postcards may be released on tourist places such as Khajuraho, Taj Mahal, Ajanta and Ellora, Belur Math etc.

No comments:

Post a Comment